Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

looking back

I know I haven't been around for quite some time and really I have a good reason for it. I have been sorting out some stuff, and I really just found myself more comfortable somewhere else. So yeah, that's where I was, and will probably be for a while. But of course, since I have been writing here for 4 and a half years I can't really just give it up, so I will try to make more of an effort to write in here as well. Anyway, I saw this somewhere and decided to steal it: 1.What did you do in 2005 that you'd never done before?

Well, I had a lot of change in my life. I got a new roommate, I moved to a new school, things changed with Jim, a new guy came into my life. Overall I think I am accepting change better than I used to. I also took that spontaneous road trip to see my grandparents this summer, that was pretty cool.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions and will you make more for next year?

This year I vowed to make my relationship with Jim work and I also wanted to lose weight. The relationship one was kind of a wash. I think I tried really hard with him, and I am still trying yet I wouldn't say that I was successful. In terms of losing weight, that has been going very well, and it will continue to be something I will work on in 2006. Of course, now I need to focus more on the eating right part and recognize that I am in a good place with the working out part. I also need to take more time for myself.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Nope.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

I only know one person who died; my former principal's third grade son died from leukemia.

5. What countries did you visit?

None. Really haven't been outside the US aside from one night driving in Canada with Jim and that was in 2003. I really need to get a passport.

6. What would you like to have in 2006 that you lacked in 2005?

I would like to have more friends. I would like to have more confidence in myself. I would also like someone who truly loves me and wants me for who I am. I would like to travel more.

7. What date from 2005 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Valentine's Day was so sweet. Jim cooked a great steak dinner and we had a lot of fun. July sticks out because I got my job at my new school, I went up to MA, and had a lot of fun. 8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Not accepting defeat. Working through my difficulties with my old school and finding the courage to look for a new school.

9. What was your biggest failure?

The whole situation with work. Everything that is going on with Jim right now.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Well, I fell down the stairs in August and broke two of my toes. That obviously sucked. I had strep, but I don't remember if that was January or December of '04.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Well, I don't think I could beat the big purchases of '04 - my car and my house.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

I guess mine. I think I have grown a lot this year.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

My former principal, because I think he had no sympathy for what I was dealing with last year. My former colleagues because I thought they were my friends and they really were not. Jim because I thought we could make it through anything and I think he has all but given up on us. Someone else's behaviour has upset me because it has caused trouble for nothing.

14. Where did most of your money go?

My damn house!

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

A new person came into my life this year and that was really exciting.

16. What song will always remind you of 2005?

Coldplay - either Shiver or Trouble 17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder? I'm not sure
ii. thinner or fatter? thinner, thank god!
iii. richer or poorer? Richer.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

enjoyed myself and worked out

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

get caught up in other people's drama and treating my body like crap

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

With my grandparents

21. Did you fall in love?

I'm still in love.

23. How many one-night stands?

None!

24. What was your favourite TV program?

Grey's Anatomy, Gilmore Girls, The OC

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year? Hate's a strong word, but I seriously dislike and never want to see a few people again

26. What was the best book you read?

Geez, I don't know!

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Coldplay, PJ Harvey

28. What did you want and get?

A better job

29. What did you want and not get?

Maybe it's not about what but it's more about who... ;)

30. What was your favourite film of this year?

Harry Potter...or Shopgirl

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 25 and I spent time with Jim

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably satisfying?

Getting a new school.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2005?

I've been working on being better at wearing cute but comfortable clothes to school. I think things have really improved once my sizes started dropping! :)

34. What kept you sane?

God only knows...seriously...

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Nobody

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

It doesn't take much for me to get stirred up.

37. Who did you miss?

I really miss the old Jim. He was way more fun...

38. Who was the best new person you met?

:)

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004:

You never know what might happen, so don't try to prepare for everything. Also, when shit hits the fan, you just need to wipe off your face and keep going. 40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

"The more you see, the less you know
Unless you find out as you go
I knew much more than I do now

Before - After

said Jenn on December 20, 2005 at 7:25 p.m.