Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

old skool

Jenn's going old skool today.

So, I was cleaning my room a little, and I found my old journal. My first entry was written almost ten years ago. It was crazy. My handwriting was so funky I can barely read it. But I know what it says anyway. Blah blah, I looooooove this boy blah blah blah. If there is an entry with more than 4 sentences that does not mention a boy, I would be very surprised.

So here I am, listening to my early 90s mp3s and reading my journal. It's so funny. Listening to "Tennessee" by Arrested Development really makes the words come to life. It's like I can see this stuff as it was happening. It's so funny.

So, what was I like as a young(er) girl? Well, apparently I was quite boy crazy. It's funny because I would not have really thought that. I had my first crush the year I started writing in my journal...

It was sixth grade and the boy's name was Shaun. He was in my class along with my best friend, Chrissy. Now that Chrissy, SHE was totally all about boys, and had been ever since I knew her (4th grade) She used to talk about all the boys on her street. I did not get to visit her all too often because she lived on the other side of the school. But this Shaun...he lived not too far from me. I used to walk by his house on the way home. On the last day of sixth grade he walked home with me, and when he saw the ice cream man he bought me something. He asked me what I wanted, and I did not want to pick anything expensive, so I asked for a green apple blow pop.

That next year when we all went to junior high it all changed. My school had a really rigid tracking program. Man, it would never fly where I live now. Anyway, you were put into buildings by your ability, and then basically never had the opportunity to socialize with kids in the other buildings. It kinda stunk, because all my friends from elementary school were in other buildings. I was in the advanced building, so I had to make all new friends.

Oddly enough, my new best friend was still from another building, the same as the one Chrissy was put in. Her name was Elisa. She was awesome. I promised her before I moved away that I would name my daughter after her, and 8 years later, I still plan to. She was so beautiful. She was really thin (a size 3) and she had long blonde curly hair. We were total opposites. She had the palest of white skin, and my skin was so dark from the sun. It's funny, in those days I never tanned, it just kinda happened. You have to love Phoenix.

I never stop thinking of the people I met while I lived in Phoenix. I look for them from time to time, with no luck. I once found one of my friends at Arizona State, and I emailed her, but she responded curtly. All I have left is pictures, my memories, and of course, my journal.

Listening to: "Let Me Know Something" BBD

Before - After

said Jenn on 2001-07-15 at 9:58 p.m.