Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

Wish II

From Wish:

I want you to think about your favorite book or your favorite movie, and tell me about it. I want to know every last detail about why you love this story. I want you to describe it to me like I haven't read it or seen it. I want you to convince me to rush out and experience it for myself. I want you to tell me how it touched you, and why. Did it make you cry? Did it make you laugh? Weep? Jump? Dance? Shout? I want to know what makes you tick. I want to know what moves you.

One of my favorite movies/books is Message In a Bottle.

It's a story of a divorced journalist who has given up on love after catching her husband red handed with another woman. She lives with her young son in Chicago (in the movie) working for well known Chicago paper. One day on vacation she finds, well, a message in a bottle. Addressed to a woman named Catherine, and only signed G., the letter is filled with love and regret for a love lost. It is unclear what the circumstances of the relationship is, but the loving words haunt her and she becomes determined to find out more.

Through the newspaper, where she works as a researcher for a quirky columnist, she finds three other messages and determines that the person who wrote the letters is still alive.

She sets off to North Carolina to find Garrett, a ship builder/restorer. Naturally this man is handsome and she falls for him.

The story behind Catherine is that she was his childhood sweetheart who he later married. She became ill and died, leaving his bereft, though her death was a while ago, and his elderly father (played by a humourous Paul Newman) begs him to move on.

Theresa doesn't tell Garrett about the messages, befriends him and soon they start a relationship. But his strong love for his former wife is a bigger barrier than the physical distance in miles between their homes.

When he comes to visit her they make love for the first time. Afterwards she goes to the bathroom (to shower?) and he finds the letters. It turns out that one of the messages was from his wife that was written days before she died. Reading her words seems to set him free though he is furious at Theresa. He leaves and goes back to North Carolina.

But once back he goes back to ship building, something he had not done since Catherine had died.

Months later he contacts Theresa, who too has expanded her horizons and started writing her own column for the paper, and invites her to see his new boat, named Catherine.

She goes to visit him, bearing a gift, but seeing him with the boat and hearing him still speak of his dead wife is too much. She goes back to the house where they later have a confrontation. She tells him that there is not enough room in his heart for the two of them and she leaves. He doesn't go after her, but after talking to his father realizes his mistake.

He clears out his wife's old things, (yes, did I mention he left all of her things as they had been before she died...kinda creepy) and writes one last letter to his wife.

He goes out in his boat to send out the message, and suddenly a powerful storm comes in, and he sees a family who needs his help. He rescues the father and the child, but the mother is stuck in something. As he tries to save her the family's boat overturns and he is killed.

His father calls Theresa to break the news, and gives her the message, which was still on the boat. In it he says goodbye to his wife and tells her that he is in love with another woman, that he is going to go after her and beg her to marry him.

That is how the movie ends.

Pretty sad. Not your standard romantic story. But I like it. Not all love stories are boy and girl meet, fall in love, and live happily ever after.

I read the book first, and that made me cry. The actors in the movie were very good so I enjoyed it. Also I must mention that the music in the movie was really good. I actually bought the soundtrack and I never buy CDs anymore. There are some good songs that were on the radio a while back...but the best songs are the instrumental ones at the end. You can really feel the emotion in them.

Well, anyway, that's my description of the movie..sorry if I spoiled it for anyone now, but you should still see it! Or read the books! Come on, I know a lot of y'all are "book-whores"

Message In A Bottle by Nicholas Sparks

Think I am convivial? Click here

Before - After

said Jenn on 2001-07-23 at 1:49 p.m.