Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

keeping them crossed

Today I seem to be reaping the benefits of all my calling and emailing and faxing that I did earlier this week and last. Here is my current interview schedule:
Friday July 25th:
10:30 4th grade position
3:00 3rd grade - gifted and talented

Monday July 28th:
9:30 5th grade position

Tuesday July 29th:
10:30 hmmm, I don't think the principal mentioned what grade. whatever, it's an interview

While I am excited just for the fact that I have four interviews (all in Jim's county, and one in his town) I am especially excited about tomorrow's interview for the 3rd grade position. I have always been intrigued by the possibility of teaching gifted and talented. (I even mentioned that in an entry dated January 19, 2003 - "I also think it would be great to one day teach the gifted." and in this entry " I hope one day to teach gifted children") I point it out because sometimes in our search for employment we take jobs that might not interest us as much. Heck, if I ended up taking a fifth grade position it would not have been my first choice...or even my second.

Now that I think about it though, and this is digresing a bit, but it saddens me that I have not mentioned that goal more. I think part of my interest stems from my involvement in g&t programs as a kid. Actually, my pre-prac was in an "accelerated" classroom, which is close as MA will get to g&t: apparently they find the concept "elitist." So walking into this interview I will of course be nervous because I really really want this position, but I find myself uniquely qualified despite not teaching in my own classroom. 1. I was in a g&t program for 4 years. 2. My pre-prac was practically g&t. 3. My practicum was in 3rd grade. Can't ask for much better than that.

So yeah, if everyone could say a little prayer at 3 pm tomorrow, cross your fingers, etc. Lets hope I don't find a way to screw this up.

Before - After

said Jenn on July 24, 2003 at 3:42 p.m.